Events & News


In Memory of Member Glenys Brown

25/05/1944 - 22/04/2020

Members of the Zonta Club of Fleurieu Peninsula were deeply saddened to learn that Past President, Board member and friend, Glenys Brown had passed away suddenly on Wednesday 22nd April 2020.

Glenys had lived in the Victor Harbor area for the last 30 years, where she had been actively involved in a family business and served in the Community as a Co-ordinator and later volunteer of the Caring Neighbourhood Program run by the City of Victor Harbor.  Glenys was also an active member of the Bayside Church, Victor Harbor.

Glenys joined Zonta in 2013, served as Vice President in 2015/2016, and President in 2016/2018.  She served on Board from 2018 to 2020.  Last year she chaired the Membership Committee and was also a member of the Fundraising Committee which she had served on for several years.  While President, she developed an application form process for our annual Woman of Achievement Award, which has been presented to a local woman at the November dinner meeting for many years.  She was innovative, and willing to work as her participation in many fundraising and other club activities show.  Last year she created and made our Centennial bunting for our  Women's Expo.  This bunting has been circulated to other Zonta Clubs in the state to be used in their Centennial events.

We will remember Glenys as a vibrant, positive and caring woman, willing to help others and making us laugh with her wonderful sense of humour.  She will be greatly missed by all.